Early morning and the sun is just rising above the mountains on the left. The campground sits directly on the Fraser River, which is grey right now from sediments flowing downstream. This is one of the only places where the public can still pan for gold. Some gold is still being carried down from the former mother lode and people can re-experience the 1860s thrill of capturing some of it.

Entrance to the campground with small back object on the right side.
There is a 1921 bridge that still crosses the Fraser a short walk upstream. It is open only
to pedestrian traffic, and many people do a loop walk around Lillooet using this route.
Rick was fascinated in how it was made, originally for smaller and lighter traffic from
today. The following photos are for the guys (and gals) out there interested in such
things.





No comments:
Post a Comment